Thursday, September 17, 2020

Major species of crawfish

Two specific species - the red swamp crawfish and the white river crawfish. They are the species of greatest commercial importance in the southern U.S. Another importance species referred to as the eastern white river crawfish.

Red swamp crawfish native range is northwestern Mexico and southcentral United States, although they have been introduced to many other countries. While white rover crawfish native range is Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama and they only occur in the United States.

The red swamp and white river crawfishes often co-exist in the same native habitat or managed impoundment. Both are ecologically adapted to the annual hydrological cycles of spring flooding and summer dry periods common to large river systems and floodplains in the region.

White river crawfish is found in permanent sluggish, to moderately flowing streams and most permanent lentic (lakes, swamps, ponds) water bodies. In West Virginia, this species has been found in ephemeral wetland habitats. It is considered to be a habitat generalist.

Red swamp crawfish live in a variety of permanent freshwater habitats. Crayfish are crustaceans that burrow deep into the substrate of their habitat and create large mounds of sand and soil called chimneys with a relatively large hole in the center.
Major species of crawfish

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Popular Posts

World Fishing & Aquaculture - News

SAF-DYNAMICS of Food Science and Technology